Coconut Butter Problems

Coconut Butter Problems

I always see recipes on pinterest for no bake protein bars/balls but there’s one problem with them all. I do not like peanut butter. You don’t need to tell me how weird I am because everybody already tells me enough. Peanut butter is one of the most important ingredients in these protein bars/balls because that’s what holds it all together. So I went on over to sprouts to see if I could find an alternative and I found it! The alternative is coconut butter and I think it was around $10. I love coconuts so I thought I would give it a try. The recipe I’m using is one I found a pinterest (which you can find here) but I changed two ingredients in it. Instead of peanut butter and honey, I used coconut butter and agave nectar. If you don’t know what agave nectar is, it’s a sweetener kind of like honey but not as sweet. I prefer it over honey but that’s just my opinion. The other three ingredients in this recipe are old fashioned oats, ground flax seed, and chocolate chips. Let me tell you what, coconut butter is hard to work with.
Wcoconut butterhen coconut butter is room temperature or colder it is hard. So I first had to warm the jar in warm water until it was a spreadable consistency. I just stirred it until it was basically like peanut butter. Also, this isn’t really something I would eat by the spoonful. It’s definitely not as sweet as peanut butter. I think it really depends on what you like though. To me it was pretty bland.

 

 

 

 

 

Then I went ahead a mixed everything together. It seemed like everything was going good. Then you are supposed to put the mixture in the fridge for 15-30 minutes so thatmixed it’s easier to roll into balls. The whole reason for this is because peanut butter isn’t as sticky when it’s chilled. One problem, I’m not using peanut butter and coconut butter is hard when it’s chilled. That didn’t occur to me though and I just went ahead and chilled it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What was I thinking? Rolling these into balls was near impossible. The coconut butter went hard so they weren’t sticking together. So I tried microwaving it for a little bit just to softenfail the coconut butter. It didn’t work. They still weren’t rolling into balls.  I had no idea what I was going to do instead. So I decided to just stick these into a cake pan to make bars and I put them back in the fridge. After an hour or two I decided to cut a bar out. It still fell apart, but it tasted yummy  so I can’t really complain. Since they taste good I would definitely recommend them. If you’re going to use coconut butter I would say to try rolling them before putting them in the fridge. I’m going to try using coconut butter on more things and then I will report back to you guys!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

