Tips for Living in a Dorm

Tips for Living in a Dorm

I have lived in a dorm for 2 school years now. College Dorms are not always seen as the greatest thing. I’ve come to learn that living in a dorm is not all that bad. It really depends on if you make it a bad experience or not. If you are like me you are going to be living at school for 3/4 of the year. You might as well make it the best experience that you can. If you are reading this and are about to go live in a dorm next year, then I want to share what I have learned my past 2 years.

Make It Your Home

Since you are going to be living there most of the year make it so that you want to live there. This means decorating, cover up those bland walls, and keep it clean. I always put decorations all over my walls. Dorm rooms look pretty plain so it’s nice to add the color and make it feel less boring. There are TONS of dorm decorating ideas on pinterest. This past year I just put some lights up and then put pictures up around my lights. Having pictures of family is nice so that it reminds you of home.

Dealing With Roommates

Sometimes living with people is hard. My freshman year I lived with a girl who was so rude and selfish. It was also a learning experience. The most important thing is that it is ok to speak up for yourself! If you do not like what someone is doing, you can say something. It’s ok to say, “Hey this is not just your room so you need to learn that everybody lives differently.” Don’t be afraid of roommate meetings. Sometimes there are things happening in the room that need to be discussed. That’s what roommate meetings are for. You all sit down, discuss the problem, and figure out the solution. Those are also really nice so that everybody is on the same page.

Cleaning

Mom isn’t there to tell you to clean your room or bathroom. You need to be on top of things! If you don’t keep things clean, then you aren’t going to want to be there. Cleaning is also a great time to take a break from studying. In order to make sure everybody in the room is cleaning, it might be a good idea to make a chore chart. This just helps to show who needs to do what and when. Then if something has not been cleaned, it is easy to see who to talk to. There isn’t any fighting over who’s turn it is to clean the toilet.

Respect Your Roommates

You are going to be living with a bunch of other people who all are very different from you. It is important to respect the way others live and how to compromise with them. If somebody likes to go to bed early, don’t stay in the room with the light on until the wee hours of the morning. Just leave the room and allow them to get their sleep. You can always go somewhere else to study or watch Netflix.

Unfortunately I don’t have a lot of time to write this. I have more tips and would love to share them. I’ll probably make a part 2. I wish this post could have been better than it is, but I hope somebody reads this and learns something from the tips that I’ve shared.

Leave a Reply

