Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I get to cross off a book that is on that reading list. It is The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  I have actually been wanting to read this book for a couple of years but have never gotten around to it. Then I saw a trailer for the movie and I knew that I finally needed to read it. I didn’t have any money so I put it on hold at the library and I was number 136 in line. I waited to long to try and get the book. But I eventually got it about mid December. Now on to the actual book.

I absolutely loved the book. It was hard for me to put it down. The book was a different style of writing. It actually sounded like the kid was talking. I’ve noticed sometimes when I write, I write the way I talk because that’s how I’m saying it in my head. It’s not the best way when I’m writing a paper, but I like it better. It sounds more real. The book is all about a kid who is going through his freshman year of high school. I loved how he talked about real challenges that high school kids go through. Not all kids have to go through drugs, but almost all have been offered drugs. Not all kids are having sex, but the average age for a person’s first time is around 16. It talked about the emotional problems that come with those challenges. I would definitely read this book again.

Leave a Reply

